While the majority of the population was glued to the screens watching the NFL playoffs, yesterday. My bored, sweet, ambitious, busy, Youngest helped me make lesson plans and prepare for today’s Zoology class. We decided to go ahead and do a test run on the activity and make our own insects out of modeling clay. The basic idea is that a true insect has three body parts (head, thorax, and abdomen) and six legs. It’s interesting to discover just how many creatures aren’t really classified as insects, at all. Think spiders, centipedes, and scorpions. {shudder}

bug2

Laura’s Insect

Laura’s insect has wings, as many do at some point during their life.

He also has a happy smile. 🙂

She named him, Theo.

bug5

My Insect

And, here’s mine. I thought he should have big eyes. An insect’s eyes are made up of hundreds of tiny little lenses and each one of those lenses sees a separate image.

And did you know that you can drown an insect, then completely cover it with salt, wait five to ten minutes and the little guy will come back to life?!?! It’s because they’re able to close the spiracles in their abdomen when faced with a heavy rain or other unfortunate meetings with water (i.e., science teachers & their students) Once they’re dry enough they open the spiracles and are able to breathe, again. Pretty cool, huh?

They also come back to life after being in extremely cold temperatures. Why is this, class??

Because they are cold-blooded.

I wonder why we use the male gender to describe insects? He, Him, Little Guy. 🙂

As much as I think insects are interesting, I have to say I truly love my 3rd, 4th, & 5th graders so much more. They’re still so excited about life at this age. I can hardly get a word in during class because they have so many stories to tell me about bugs, insects, and creatures with a random story about the weekend thrown in. I’m constantly reminding them that it’s my turn to talk. I love their joy. I love their enthusiasm. I love their smiles.

A far cry from teachings High Schoolers. #DeadSilence

One comment on “

  1. Debbie W says:

    Truth in science by the Creator’s design and true of 4th, 5th and 6th graders by Design as well! Thanks for truth in one fell swoop of words!

Leave a Reply

